My first blog post!

Being new to the world of writing blogs, this seems slightly daunting and yet strangely familiar. Nevertheless, this blog is a way for me to get myself noticed and (fingers crossed) get out of retail (my current occupation), once and for all.

Thanks to the lovely Emily King, I’ve managed to build this WordPress blog in order to do just that.

So first, let me tell you about the projects I’ve worked on specifically with Habitual Films:

Consolidating: The story of one man’s search for love using speed dating.

Boytoy Beta: A woman’s struggle with technology.

Unlocked: Trying to escape a house of puzzles.

Consolidating and Boytoy Beta were made when I was at University, while Unlocked was afterwards.

The establishing shot for Boytoy Beta

Without University resources, it’s slightly more difficult to make really good looking films, but it’s something I will overcome.

The equipment we have to film with currently is:

  • HG10 Cannon camera
  • Tripod
  • Dolly
  • Hague motion stabiliser (handicam)
  • Rode Mic
  • XLR cables
  • Boom pole
  • Stand
  • Pop-shield
  • Lighting equipment
  • Reflector
  • Light meter
  • Clapperboard
  • AVID Media Composer 5 (along with the production suite – Boris Continuum Complete 6, , AVID DVD, Sorenson Squeeze and Sonic Fire)
  • Pro Tools Essentials 8 and Midi Keyboard.
  • Hauppage HD-PVR
  • FRAPS

Equipment wishlist:

4 Comments on “My first blog post!”

  1. Emily says:

    I didn’t do that much. You made all the pretty pictures.

  2. […] My partner Paul has finally caved and started up a blog about his filmmaking exploits. You should go and check his blog out right now. Being new to the world of writing blogs, this seems slightly daunting and yet strangely familiar. Nevertheless, this blog is a way for me to get myself noticed and (fingers crossed) get out of retail (my current occupation), once and for all. Thanks to the lovely Emily King, I’ve managed to build this WordPress blog in order to do just that. So first, let me tell you about the projects I’ve worked on specifically with Habitual Films: Consolidatin … Read More […]

  3. Tiny Temper says:

    Aww, welcome to the wonderful, whacky world of WordPress blogging πŸ™‚

    Look forward to reading some more. I probably won’t understand a word of it, but I’ll still enjoy reading! πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you Miss Temper.

      I’ll try and keep it as clear as possible. After all, I don’t want to scare away the people that just want to watch films rather than make them! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

