What’s up, doc?!

Me testing out the lighting equipment for tomorrow. I didn't want to get up to Exeter and find that there's a fault.

So what have I been doing the past few days I hear you wonder. Well, I’ve got myself into a few new things.

Tomorrow, I’m taking my lighting kit and helping out a friend with his shoot of a music video up in Exeter. I’ve also just finished designing business cards for mademoiselle King. Also, I’ve been designing props and the story for my new film, Replicable.

Meanwhile, I’m half way through watching the first season of Star Trek: The Next Generation as well as being part way through re-editing Boytoy Beta. Basically, I’m in the middle of quite a few tasks at the moment. Then there’s Portal 2 and the new Mortal Kombat game on the way soon! Not to mention the business cards and merchandise I want to design too.

Then of course, there’s the blog. Sometimes, there just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day. But it’s better to have too much to do than not enough, in my experience. Although mood plays a factor too (the sunday blues don’t sit well with me), either enabling you to just plow through your work or stump you before you start.

Part of the beauty of having so many different types of things you do though, is practicing a wide range of skills, as often they can become interchangable with what you want to do. For example, creating the wedding DVD has given me more of an insight into colour correction, which I can then use in AVID. Same with layering.

Colour Correction using GIMP

Even playing videogames are often beneficial in some circumstances. Portal especially, it literally gets you to think outside of the box when problem-solving, forcing you to adapt to foreign solutions. Although sounding ridiculous, I do believe Tetris has helped me be more efficient when stacking misshaped items on shelves.

I think the general point of this post is to illustrate one simple point: experience of any kind, is always beneficial.

While experience in certain things can help you in direct ways, skills can be learnt in all manners. I have even learnt a lot about dealing with people from working in retail. I’m far more likely to be able to “sell” an idea now than I did before. Dealing with databases and lists in work also gives me experience organising and dealing with things like logsheets.

Leave a Reply

