What’s new with you?!

The logo for the expo we're currently recovering from

I thought since there’s been a lot going on lately, I’ll take the time to tell you guys about it.

First of all, there was the competition entry for the Last Exit to Nowhere competition – Divide. You can watch the youtube video here.

I felt the video was quite good, though I had to cut some stuff out. For time sakes, I cut out the bits where Karla came down the stairs and enters the living room, as well as not doing credits. I also had to cut some of the visual stylisations, including the animated name and the scrolling down the page. Whilst they could work in other instances, I found it doesn’t work for singular events within the film (i.e. for a stylisation to work, the style has to be carried multiple times through a film – I just didn’t have enough of the 30 seconds to do that). The results will be announced tomorrow.

Then there’s the two expos just gone – The Bristol International Comics and Small Press Expo from two weeks ago and the London MCM Expo, both of which has left my finances drained. Along with my upcoming birthday and then Emily’s birthday, I won’t be able to acquire new gear for a while yet. Still, we had fun (and Emily got some interest in Displaced).

The work-in-progress graphic novel cover for Displaced

Then there’s the updates to this site, including (if you haven’t already seen it), production documents – including storyboards and cast/crew sheets. I haven’t included everything a production needs – the actor and location agreement forms should be generated by yourself, to make sure you know what you’re getting into when you film. Then of course, there’s the fun section – new up. Quizzes. I do plan on doing more, there’s 4 up there at the moment, and feel free to post your results. Also any inaccuracies, problems, etc… feel free to contact me.

There’s also the job of storyboarding Emily’s graphic novel, Displaced, in order to cut down on some of the work for the artists.

And after all that, there’s still my actual job – although that isn’t much trouble at the moment.

I have no idea what my next project is going to be as of yet (I may see another short film competition at some point and go for it again).

Oh, and then there’s the Victoriana shorts (although not my project, I’m still involved in it) – basically trailers for Tim’s graphic novel/comic book series Victoriana.

The Victoriana logo (drawn by Georgina Greves)

So I’ve been quite busy recently. I’m going to busy for quite some time, but I’ll endeavour to produce a post a day (excluding sundays), with the help of some of our other writers.

Leave a Reply

